UMGSA General Council

The UMGSA General Council is made up of representatives from over 40 departments at the University of Manitoba who vote on issues that affect graduate student life. Take a look at the list below and see if your department is represented. There are great reasons to make sure that your department is represented on council, including the department grant you receive twice a year for participation. If your department isn’t on the list below, follow our step-by-step guide on how to become a councillor. If you want to get to know your councillor, contact us and we will put you in touch with the representative from your department.

What does General Council do? Councillors meet monthly (usually the fourth Wednesday of the month) in the UMGSA Lounge at 221 University Centre (or on Zoom during COVID-19). The UMGSA Executives report to council about what their committees are working on, Executives relay updates about university administration, councillors share news from their departments, and council discusses and votes on issues that affect graduate student life. If you have an issue that you would like to have discussed at General Council contact us, or your departmental representative and they can advocate on your behalf. If you would like to learn more about the UMGSA Executives, you can read their profiles or familiarize yourself with their duties in the Governance and Operations Manual.

If you want to know what goes on at a UMGSA General Council meeting, you can read the minutes of past meetings here. Guests are also welcome, so feel free to join us for a General Council meeting to see what it’s all about.

Departments and Representatives on UMGSA General Council

Faculty of Agricultural & Food Science

Agribusiness and Agri-Economics: Damla Oz

Animal Science: Oluwakemi Omotosho

Biosystems Engineering: Olayinka Folorunsho & Mujibur Rahman

Entomology: Joel Gardner

Food Science: Susane Trevisan

Human Nutritional Sciences: Luis Cordero-Monroy

Plant Science: Jacob Kolody & Sampa Sarker

Soil Science: Claudia Quilesfogel-Esparza & Kody Oleson

Faculty of Architecture

Architecture: Alixa Lacerna & Zahra Sharifi Mahrjardi

City Planning: Jakub Marshall & Dom Camps

Interior Design: Sean Hewlett 

Landscape Architecture: Christopher Speirs

Faculty of Arts

Anthropology: Olajumoke Olalere

English, Film, Theatre, and Media: Amy-Leigh Gray

History: Cara Ginter

Linguistics: Oluwakemi Kolapo

Political Studies & Public Administration: Divya Negi

Psychology: Nicolas Brais & Reegan McCheyne

Sociology & Criminology: Avery Hallberg 

Asper School of Business

Asper – Master of Finance: (Evelyn) Siyao Zhang

Management – MBA: Abhinandan Khansali

Faculty of Education

Education – PhD: Golnaz Shirzadi

Education – Admin, Foundations & Psychology: Abiola Olowolagba 

Education – Curriculum, Teaching & Learning: Mousume Akhter Flora

Faculty of Engineering

Biomedical Engineering: Debarati Nath

Civil Engineering: Parvin Berenjkar

Electrical & Computer Engineering: Abolfazl Babaei & Amirmasoud Amirkabiri

Mechanical Engineering: Osamudiamen Olaye & Behzad Fakour

Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources

Environment & Geography: Kiran Yendamuri & Zakhar Kazmiruk

Geological Sciences: Aaron Kilmury

Natural Resources Institute: Michael Bagamery & Brendan Middel

Faculty of Graduate Studies

Applied Health Sciences: Kevin Boreskie & Zach Henderson

Faculty of Kinesiology & Recreation Management

Kinesiology & Recreation Management: Ganesh Tailor & Olivia Tefft

Faculty of Law

Master of Human Rights: Diana Ubokudom

Faculty of Nursing

Nursing: Jessica Meilleur & Brittany Silverstein

Faculty of Science

Biological Sciences: Ashley Tripp 

Chemistry: Scott Legare

Computer Science: Kimia Shadkami

Mathematics: YG Liang

Microbiology: Dustin Maydaniuk

Physics & Astronomy: Brydyn Mac Intyre

If you would like contact information for any of the above councillors please e-mail our Governance and Communications Coordinator with your question and request at:

You may also want to contact your department’s graduate student advisor or graduate chair for more information about getting involved at the department level.