Each spring, the Executive members of the UMGSA are decided in the annual General Election. Every graduate student enrolled at the University of Manitoba gets a vote, and candidates campaign on issues that affect graduate student life. If you’re interested in running in a future election, drop by our office during business hours from 9am to 4pm and chat with us about how to submit your name.

See below for the results from the 2018 UMGSA General Election.

2018 UMGSA Election Results

The Election Committee, Chief Returning Officer and Deputy Returning Officer thank all the candidates that put up themselves for election. However, the results are in and have been ratified by Council. Click here to view a full breakdown of the vote tallies. The elected candidates are as follows:

President: Carl Neumann

Vice President External: Skye Kushner

Vice President Academic: Silvia Araujo

Vice President Internal: Cody Ross

Vice President Marketing and Events: Sakib Rahman

UMGSA Senator 1: Felix Nwaiwu

UMGSA Senator 2: Laura Forsythe

Referendum Question

Students voted against an increase to the UMGSA operating Budget Fee of $4.62 per semester for each of the fall and winter semesters. 382 students voted against the Operating Budget Fee hike, while 292 voted in favour.