The Voting Period is now CLOSED for the UMGSA 2024/25 General Election

Election Results 2024

Final Results (to be ratified):

These results are to be ratified at the March 27th, 2024 UMGSA Council Meeting.

President (total votes cast: 587)

Vice-President Academic & Senator (total votes cast: 638)

Harshani Nadeeshani Vidana Hewage (Experience) – 240 Yes

Ritesh Kumar Yadav – 129 Yes

Vice-President External & Senator (total votes cast: 589)

Albert Boakye (Experience) – 277 Yes

Vice-President Finance and Administration (total votes cast: 612)

Vice-President Services and Support (total votes cast – 613)

Congratulations to all the elected executives!

The positions available include:

  • President & Senator
  • Vice-President, Academic & Senator
  • Vice-President, External & Senator
  • Vice-President, Finance and Administration
  • Vice-President, Services and Support

The detailed description of each role can be found in the Executive and Officer Policy Manual.

Click here to access the Governance & Operations manual.

Click here to view the candidate’s statements.

Click here to view the HSGSA candidates.

Election Forums

The UMGSA Election Forums are a great venue for you to listen to each candidate speak on student issues.

Fort Garry Campus & Bannatyne Campus Joint Forum

Date & Time: March 13th, 2024 at 5:00PM CT
Location: Zoom

The Election Forum is open to all graduate students and is a chance for YOU to ask the UMGSA Executive Candidates any questions you have about their plans for the 2024/25 term, before casting your vote.

Register in advance for the Election Forum here:
2024 UMGSA Election Forum | UMGSA

Relevant deadlines and dates

  • Nomination Period: February 5-16, 2024
  • All Candidates Meeting: February 16, 2024
  • Pre-Campaign Period: February 19-25, 2024
  • Campaign Prep Period: February 26- March 10, 2024
  • Campaign Period: March 11-17, 2024
  • UMGSA/ HSGSA Joint Election Forum: March 13, 2024
  • Voting Period: March 18-19, 2024

*please note that the ‘Nomination period’ and the ‘Campaign prep period’ also counts as part of the ‘pre-campaign’ period for regulation purposes.

Voting Period

Voting will take place from 9AM (9:00) Monday, March 18th to 5PM (17:00) on Tuesday, March 19th.

Voting will take place by online vote only. You can vote via the link that will be sent to your email address at the start of the voting period. Please check your junk mail if you do not receive the voting email on Monday morning.

Application guidelines and forms

Kindly review the Election & Referendum Manual and appropriate forms below.

If you have any questions, concerns or feedback, please contact the Chief Returning Officer, Shivam Bhatia at and Cc the Deputy Returning Officer, Chamali Kodikara at